African Urban Harvest: Agriculture in the Cities of Cameroon, Kenya and Uganda

Book cover African Urban Harvest: Agriculture in the Cities of Cameroon, Kenya and Uganda
Editor(s):
Gordon Prain, Nancy Karanja, and Diana Lee-Smith
Publisher(s):
Springer, CIP, IDRC
2010-01-01
ISBN:
9781441969620
344 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552504925

Available formats

Over the past two decades, how has urban agriculture changed in sub-Saharan Africa? Is city farming now better integrated into environmental management and city governance? And, looking ahead, how might urban agriculture address the needs of the low-income households and modernizing cities of Africa?

In this book, leading specialists in the fields of urban agriculture and urban environment present a unique collection of case studies that examines the growing role of local food production in urban livelihoods in sub-Saharan Africa. Amongst many issues, the authors probe the changing role of urban agriculture, the risks and benefits of crop–livestock systems, and the opportunities for making locally produced food more easily available and more profitable. Concluding chapters reflect on the policy and governance implications of greater integration of urban natural resources and the built environment, an expanded role for urban agriculture in sub-Saharan Africa and the crucial role of women in urban food systems.

African Urban Harvest will be of interest to decision-makers, development professionals, researchers, academics, and students and educators in urban planning, development studies, African studies, and environmental studies.

The editors

Gordon Prain has been Global Coordinator of Urban Harvest, the CGIAR system-wide program on urban and peri-urban agriculture, since its establishment in 1999. Prior to that, he led a network in Asia that supported research and capacity strengthening in the areas of urban home gardening and both urban and peri-urban agroprocessing.

Nancy Karanja is a professor in soil ecology at the University of Nairobi and from 2005 to 2009 was the sub-Saharan Africa Regional Coordinator for Urban Harvest. She has led a number of studies on nutrient harvesting from urban organic waste, reuse of urban wastewater for vegetable production, and assessment of health risks associated with urban livestock systems.

Diana Lee-Smith was the African Regional Coordinator of Urban Harvest from 2002 to 2005, during which period most of the research studies included in this book were carried out. As cofounder and Associate of the Mazingira Institute in Nairobi, she has carried out research in many areas including urban agriculture.

African Urban Harvest : Agriculture in the Cities of Cameroon, Kenya and Uganda

Couverture du livre African Urban Harvest: Agriculture in the Cities of Cameroon, Kenya and Uganda
Directeur(s) :
Gordon Prain, Nancy Karanja, et Diana Lee-Smith
Maison(s) d’édition :
Springer, CIP, CRDI
2010-01-01
ISBN :
9781441969620
344 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552504925

Au cours des deux dernières décennies, comment l’agriculture urbaine a-t-elle évolué dans les pays de l’Afrique subsaharienne ? Est-elle aujourd’hui mieux intégrée à la gestion de l’environnement et à la gouvernance des villes ? Et, en se tournant vers l’avenir, comment l’agriculture urbaine pourrait elle répondre aux besoins des ménages à faible revenu et contribuer à la modernisation des villes d’Afrique ?

Cet ouvrage est un recueil unique d’études de cas qui examine le rôle croissant de la production alimentaire locale dans les moyens de subsistance urbains en Afrique subsaharienne. Les auteurs, d’éminents spécialistes de l’agriculture urbaine et du milieu urbain, abordent notamment l’évolution du rôle de l’agriculture urbaine, les risques et les avantages des systèmes de production végétale et animale et les possibilités de rendre plus aisément disponibles et plus profitables les aliments produits localement. Les derniers chapitres proposent une réflexion au sujet des répercussions d’une intégration accrue des ressources naturelles urbaines et de l’environnement bâti sur les politiques et sur la gouvernance, d’une place plus grande faite à l’agriculture urbaine en Afrique subsaharienne et du rôle capital des femmes dans les systèmes de production alimentaire urbains.

African Urban Harvest intéressera les décideurs, les professionnels du développement, les chercheurs, les universitaires ainsi que les étudiants et les enseignants dans les domaines de l’aménagement urbain, des études du développement, des études africaines et des études de l’environnement.

Les directeurs

Gordon Prain est, depuis sa création en 1999, coordonnateur mondial d’Urban Harvest, l’initiative sur l’agriculture urbaine et périurbaine du CGRAI. Auparavant, il avait dirigé un réseau d’appui à la recherche et au renforcement des capacités en Asie dans les domaines du jardinage domestique en milieu urbain et de la production agroalimentaire en zone urbaine et périurbaine.

Professeure d’écologie des sols à l’Université de Nairobi, Nancy Karanja a été, de 2005 à 2009, coordonnatrice régionale d’Urban Harvest en Afrique subsaharienne. Elle a dirigé de nombreuses études sur les nutriments extraits des déchets organiques, la réutilisation des eaux usées urbaines aux fins de la production légumière et l’évaluation des risques pour la santé associés aux systèmes de production animale en milieu urbain.

Diana Lee-Smith a été coordonnatrice régionale d’Urban Harvest en Afrique de 2002 à 2005, période au cours de laquelle ont été menées à bien la plupart des études de recherche figurant dans cet ouvrage. À titre de cofondatrice et d’associée de l’Institut Mazingira de Nairobi, elle a effectué des recherches dans de nombreux domaines, y compris celui de l’agriculture urbaine.