Skip to main content

Three sub-Saharan countries to participate in Transformative Innovation Policy Africa Hub

Published on
December 19, 2018
With new IDRC funding, Ghana, Kenya, and Senegal are joining the Transformative Innovation Policy Consortium (TIPC) as associate members. They will receive mentorship from South Africa’s National Research Foundation, one of the Consortium’s founding members.
TIPC / University of Sussex  

A platform for mutual learning and the co-production of knowledge, the Transformative Innovation Policy (TIP) Africa Hub launched at the 2018 South Africa Science Forum in Pretoria in December 2018. The TIP Africa Hub will bring policymakers and researchers from these three countries together and link them to the TIPC.

The Consortium has developed a framework for analyzing transformative change in national systems of innovation. To date, it has piloted its approach in six case studies of member countries, covering examples from both high-income and middle-income countries.

The TIP Africa Hub is an opportunity to apply the TIPC methodology to the African context, building on and informing the work of the Science Granting Councils Initiative (SGCI), a flagship initiative supported by IDRC in partnership with the UK’s Department for International Development and South Africa’s National Research Foundation. The SGCI’s 15 participating granting councils, as well as researchers and policymakers from across the continent, will be able to learn from the work of the TIP Africa Hub.