français
Home > IDRC > Regions > Latin America and the Caribbean
Latin America and the Caribbean
Practical solutions to enduring problems

Located in Montevideo, Uruguay, IDRC’s regional office for Latin America and the Caribbean coordinates our activities in 33 countries.

 
Our programming reflects the diverse needs of Mesoamerica, the Caribbean, and South America. Three core goals underlie our work in the region:
  • upholding democracy, human rights, and accountable government
  • reducing vulnerability to disease, natural disasters, and degrading natural resources
  • increasing opportunities for equitable economic growth and access to social safety nets and services
A number of countries in the Americas are emerging from prolonged internal conflict or civil war. IDRC’s support in the region recognizes that research is needed to expand the range of practical solutions to enduring problems, to encourage innovation, and to promote long-term growth in the region.

Latest Result

Minimum wages aren’t always the best way to improve social welfare

For most countries, raising the minimum wage has long been considered a way to protect poor workers and their families. In fact, this active labour market intervention is a common social protection policy in many Latin American countries. But how...


News

Minister Yelich visits IDRC's regional office in Uruguay

11/03/2015

The Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State (Foreign Affairs and Consular), visited IDRC’s Regional Office for Latin America and the Caribbean in Montevideo on February 28, 2015. During her visit, she met Centre representatives as well as...

Forum unveils innovative approaches to secure health care rights for Guatemala’s indigenous communities

05/01/2015

Eighty-eight representatives from 37 rural indigenous municipalities in Guatemala shared knowledge and strategies about monitoring and evaluating public policies and healthcare services, especially for indigenous communities. They gathered at the...

Events

Highlight: IDRC Evaluation at ReLAC in Lima, Peru

25/03/2015

The 4th International Conference on Evaluation of the Latin-American and Caribbean Monitoring, Evaluation and Systematization Network (ReLAC) held in Lima, Peru on March 9-13, 2015 brought together more than 400 researchers, evaluators, and...

IDRC at ReLAC’s 4th International Conference on Evaluation in Lima, Peru

09/03/2015

IDRC support for research in evaluation practice will be showcased at the 4th International Conference on Evaluation of the Latin-American and Caribbean Monitoring, Evaluation and Systematization Network (ReLAC). The conference will be held in Lima...


Lasting impacts:
Latin America and the Caribbean




Here are a few examples that show how IDRC-supported research in Latin America and the Caribbean has improved lives

Guyanese fishers
Since the early 1970s, IDRC has supported the efforts of researchers in the English-speaking Caribbean to reduce poverty and inequality, restore degraded coastal ecosystems, and protect communities against disease and natural disasters.

To learn more download the PDF (552KB)

Home
Knowledge, innovation, and solutions to improve the lives of people in the developing world
Bookmark and Share
Flickr YouTube Facebook Twitter

English
Home > CRDI > Régions > Amérique latine et Caraïbes
Amérique latine et Caraïbes
Des solutions concrètes à des problèmes qui perdurent
 
Le Bureau régional de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes du CRDI est situé à Montevideo, en Uruguay, et coordonne des activités dans 33 pays.
 
Sa programmation témoigne de la diversité des besoins de la Méso-Amérique, des Caraïbes et de l’Amérique du Sud. Trois buts fondamentaux sous-tendent le travail du CRDI :
  • défendre la démocratie, les droits de la personne et la transparence des gouvernements;
  •  réduire la vulnérabilité à la maladie, aux catastrophes naturelles et à la dégradation des ressources naturelles;
  • accroître les possibilités de croissance économique équitable, ainsi que l’accès aux filets de sécurité et aux services sociaux.
Un certain nombre de pays des Amériques se remettent de conflits internes ou de guerres civiles prolongés. Le soutien du CRDI est axé sur le fait qu’il est nécessaire d’effectuer des recherches pour élargir l’éventail de solutions concrètes à des problèmes qui perdurent, pour encourager l’innovation et pour favoriser la croissance à long terme dans la région.

Projet le plus récent

Plateforme de sécurité des citoyens d'Amérique centrale et des Caraïbes

Dans les pays d'Amérique centrale et des Caraïbes, les taux de crimes violents menacent la stabilité politique et sociale et la confiance dans la démocratie. Ce projet élaborera un programme de recherche et de formation innovant, transnational, …

Résultat le plus récent

Le salaire minimum n’est pas toujours le meilleur moyen d’accroître le bien-être social

  La hausse du salaire minimum a longtemps été considérée, pour la plupart des pays, comme un moyen de protéger les travailleurs pauvres et leur famille. De fait, cette intervention vigoureuse sur le marché du travail est une mesure de protection...


Nouvelles

La ministre Yelich visite le bureau régional du CRDI en Uruguay

2015-03-11

L’honorable Lynne Yelich, ministre d’État (Affaires étrangères et consulaires), a visité le Bureau régional de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes du CRDI, à Montevideo, le 28 février 2015. Durant sa visite, Mme Yelich a rencontré des représentants du...

Le forum dévoile des initiatives novatrices pour faire valoir les droits aux soins de santé des populations autochtones

2015-01-05

Quatre-vingt-huit représentants de 37 communes rurales autochtones du Guatemala ont échangé des connaissances et des stratégies sur le suivi et l’évaluation des politiques publiques et des services de santé, en particulier en ce qui concerne les...

Activités

Activité antérieure – Évaluation faite par le CRDI à la Conférence du ReLAC, à Lima, au Pérou

2015-03-25

La 4e Conférence internationale sur l’évaluation du Réseau de suivi, d’évaluation et de systématisation de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes (ReLAC), tenue à Lima, au Pérou, du 9 au 13 mars 2015, a rassemblé plus de 400 chercheurs, évaluateurs et...

Présence du CRDI à la 4e Conférence internationale du ReLAC sur l’évaluation à Lima (Pérou)

2015-03-09

L’aide apportée par le CRDI à la recherche sur la pratique de l’évaluation sera mise en avant lors de la 4e Conférence internationale du ReLAC (Réseau de suivi, d’évaluation et de systématisation de l’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes). Cette...


Des effets durables  
 Amérique latine et Caraïbes




Voici quelques exemples illustrant comment les travaux que le CRDI a subventionnés en Amérique latine et Caraïbes y ont amélioré les conditions de vie.


Depuis le début des années 1970, le Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CRDI) appuie les chercheurs des pays des Caraïbes anglophones qui a’emploient à réduire la pauvreté et les inégalités, à remettre en état des écosystèmes côtiers dégradés et à protéger les collectivités contre les maladies et les catastrophes naturelles.

Pour en savoir plus télécharger le document PDF (550 Ko) 

Accueil
Savoir, innovation et solutions en vue d’améliorer les conditions de vie des populations des pays en développement.
Créer des signets et partager
Flickr YouTube Facebook Twitter