français
IDRC's Regional Office for Asia is located in New Delhi, India. It serves development researchers and institutions in eighteen countries.
 
The region is undergoing rapid and historic change. Economic growth has been unprecedented. Yet there are huge disparities in wealth within and between countries. Environmental degradation, growing informal sector, gender violence, and high maternal mortality, are straining infrastructure, fraying relations, and hampering development.
 
Governments are responding by seeking innovative policies rooted in research. Yet the strength of the institutions that would provide these policy options varies from country to country.
 
That’s why IDRC’s focus is on providing support that fosters growth with equity. We’re helping Asian innovators and leaders tackle these problems either individually or in collaboration with Canadian and regional partners.

News

Call for applications: Training program for young South Asian scholars

15/07/2015

The IDRC-funded South Asia Research Network (SARNET) is organizing a two-week training program — Labour Economics: Theories, Methodologies and Research Issues — from October 27 to November 7, 2015. Combining lectures by experts and practical...

BRAC founder Sir Fazle Hasan Abed awarded 2015 World Food Prize

08/07/2015

Sir Fazle Hasan Abed, founder and chairperson of the renowned Bangladeshi development organization BRAC, has won the 2015 World Food Prize, “for giving nearly 150 million people worldwide the opportunity for enhanced food security and a pathway out...

Events

Highlight: Forging the new Indonesia-Canada partnership

14/07/2015

Canada and Indonesia share a mutual interest in building a stronger relationship and closer business ties, a recent high-level meeting in Jakarta heard. Areas identified for collaboration include trade, regional security, education, transport...

Highlight: From factory floor to the middle class: Does labour-intensive manufacturing promote economic mobility?

15/06/2015

The 48th Asian Development Bank (ADB) annual meeting was held in Azerbaijan, May 2-5, 2015. IDRC sponsored a seminar on incentivizing employment-intensive manufacturing policies as a strategy for growth and job creation in South Asia. The seminar...


Lasting impacts: Asia 



Here are a few examples that show how IDRC-supported research in Asia has improved lives.
 
Subscribe to the newsletter (available in English and French)
 
Home
Knowledge, innovation, and solutions to improve the lives of people in the developing world
Bookmark and Share
Flickr YouTube Facebook Twitter

English
Le Bureau régional de l’Asie du CRDI se trouve à New Delhi, en Inde. Il sert les chercheurs et les établissements oeuvrant au développement dans dix-huit pays.
 
La région connaît des changements rapides et historiques, ainsi qu’une croissance économique sans précédent. Or, il existe d’énormes disparités sur le plan de la richesse à l’intérieur des pays. La dégradation de l’environnement tout comme l’intensification de la migration et de l’urbanisation exercent des pressions sur les infrastructures, minent les relations et nuisent au développement.
 
Les gouvernements tentent d’intervenir en adoptant des politiques novatrices fondées sur les données probantes issues de la recherche, mais la vigueur des établissements aptes à proposer ces choix diffère d’un pays à l’autre.
 
Voilà pourquoi le soutien du CRDI cible des projets qui favorisent la croissance dans un souci d’équité. Le Centre aide les chercheurs d’Asie à acquérir les capacités voulues pour s’attaquer à ces problèmes par leurs propres moyens.

Nouvelles

Accroître l’autonomie des entrepreneures en Inde : une collaboration avec WEConnect International

2015-03-06

Le Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CRDI) a annoncé récemment l’octroi d’une subvention de 560 000 CAD à WEConnect International, à l’appui de son nouveau projet intitulé « Growing Women-Owned Businesses in India by Building...

Un ancien bénéficiaire d’une subvention du CRDI, Harsha de Silva, est nommé sous-ministre au Sri Lanka

2015-01-30

Économiste de renom de l’Asie du Sud et ancien bénéficiaire d’une subvention du CRDI, Harsha de Silva a été nommé sous-ministre de la Planification stratégique et des Affaires économiques au sein du nouveau gouvernement du Sri Lanka. M. de Silva...

Activités

Activité antérieure – Un pionnier de la réhydratation par voie orale se rend au Bureau régional de l'Asie du CRDI situé à Delhi

2015-03-16

Dr Richard A. Cash a donné une conférence au Bureau régional de l'Asie du CRDI à New Delhi le 16 mars 2015. Le Dr Cash est connu pour son travail avant-gardiste sur la réhydratation par voie orale (RVO), un traitement pratique contre le choléra et...

Le CRDI parraine la tenue d’un débat d’experts sur la situation des travailleurs asiatiques dans le cadre de la réunion annuelle de la Banque asiatique de développement

2015-05-02

Le CRDI et le Just Jobs Network parrainent la tenue d’un débat d’experts sur les normes du travail en Asie dans le cadre de la réunion annuelle de la Banque asiatique de développement 2015 qui aura lieu du 2 au 5 mai à Baku, en Azerbaïdjan. Plus de...


Des effets durables : Asie



Lire le bulletin d'avril 2015 (PDF, 783 Ko)

Abonnez-vous au bulletin (en français ou en anglais)

Accueil
Savoir, innovation et solutions en vue d’améliorer les conditions de vie des populations des pays en développement.
Créer des signets et partager
Flickr YouTube Facebook Twitter