An international Board of Governors
Members of IDRC’s Board of Governors are appointed by the Government of Canada. Board members have expertise in international development, technology, health, the natural and social sciences, finance, and management. The Board sets IDRC’s strategic direction, has oversight of the Centre’s activities, and approves budgets. The Board meets three times a year.
The Board comprises a chairperson, president, and not more than 12 other governors. The chairperson, the vice-chairperson, and six other governors must be Canadian citizens. The remaining members of the Board may be citizens of other countries. The leadership and perspective brought by IDRC’s international members help keep our programs relevant to the needs of the developing world.

Board of Governors

Cindy Termorshuizen

Ottawa, Canada

Gordon Houlden

Edmonton, Canada

Jean Lebel, President

Ottawa, Canada

Nadir Patel

Ottawa, Canada

Sarah Fountain Smith

Ottawa, Canada

The Honourable Monte Solberg
Vice-Chairperson and Acting Chairperson

Calgary, Canada

Xue Lan

Beijing, People’s Republic of China
Board of Governors
IDRC funds researchers in the developing world so they can build healthier, more prosperous societies
Bookmark and Share
Flickr YouTube Facebook Twitter